a collection of thoughts by reno nismara

“It’s an orgasmic world” -Reno Nismara-

Back to Jakarta (and Be a Geek)

with 2 comments

After a long long time, I finally came back to where my original home is, Jakarta. Oh yeah, for those of you who don’t know, I spent my seconds, my minutes, my hours, my days, my weeks, my months in Bandung nowadays. I go to college there, so it is kinda hard for me to go home, especially that I am now in my last year. It is very hectic nowadays. Never ending assignments, quiz, and of course exams. Because of those tiring activities, I decided to go home. Why not last week? Why not next week? And most importantly, why this week? Because there’s a toys and comics festival at Electronic City, Jakarta! Hooray!! It’s a pre-event before the Jakarta Toys and Comics Fair takes place in early 2009.

On Saturday, at exactly the first November in 2008, I decided to go there.

I arrived at Electronic City at about 12.00 pm. I go to the highest floor of Electronic City, where the festival takes place, with an excited feeling. Guess what greeted me…

Holy shit, right? It was a Batman action figure signed by the artist who drew everything, from Batman to Thor, from Adam Strange to Predator. Of course, I don’t buy that action figure. Too expensive for me. But guess what…

I bought that! Quite nice, eh? I bought this because he will be the first black president in the U.S.A. and someday this action figure will be limited and will be so expensive. I guess the action figure world has the election fever too, eh?

These are the other things that are on sale at the festival. Have a look.

The other highlight from this festival is a space ship that the bad guys from Goodguysneverwin made. It’s a great space ship. The inside part of the space ship is filled with small size action figure that they also made. Genius! Take a look.

For your information, Goodguysneverwin is a local company that made really great action figure. They made the figure from many things, like baby doll head, tank miniature, and many more. Their famous products are Destroyers (left), Tankbobs (center), and Gunbobs (right).

Honestly, I thought that this was a comics festival, only comics. I was surprised when I saw all those toy booths spread around at Electronic City. But overall, I am happy with this festival. It was very pleasant and it was filled with rare toys and comics, and one of those rare comics that I got there is…

U.S., not a short for United States, but a short for Uncle Sam. It’s a two part graphic novel that was written by Steve Darnall, illustrated by the famous Alex Ross, and published by non other than Vertigo Comics. Nice! I haven’t read it yet, but from the synopsis, this will be an unique graphic novel and a one of a kind experience.

Let me write the synopsis for you.

Clad in star-spangled rags, a man named Sam wanders the streets of an anonymous American city, struggling to remember his true identity. But he’s plagued by inner voices that carry him on a time traveling journey to the dark heart of America… and hint at his own violent past. Is he Uncle Sam – or one of U.S.?

Intriguing, right? So intruiging, I am going to read this graphic novel right now and leave you with the feeling of envy. Cheers!

Written by Reno Nismara

November 1, 2008 at 4:33 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. NOOOOO!!
    GW MAU YG OBAMA JUGAAA!!

    sabisurabi

    November 3, 2008 at 1:07 pm

  2. obama jangan ditembak mati!

    TM

    November 15, 2008 at 4:55 pm


Leave a Reply

